Archive | Internet RSS feed for this section

Eighth Annual Parliament & Internet Conference Agenda Announced

The agenda for the Eighth Annual Parliament & Internet Conference has been announced. The Conference will be held on 31st October 2013 in the Houses of Parliament and bring together over two hundred leading stakeholders from Parliament, Government, civil society, technology companies, consumer groups and academic organisations.

Read more

PICTFOR Co-Chair Chi Onwurah to host the Digital Heroes Awards 2013

PICTFOR is delighted to announce that our Parliamentary Co-Chair, Chi Onwurah MP, will be hosting the TalkTalk Digital Heroes Awards 2013.

The awards are designed to recognise and reward people who are using technology to help their communities.

PICTFOR MPs encourage entries from organisations in their constituency and across Britain. Please go to to enter a submission.

Read more

PICTFOR Summer Reception 2013

Last night over 120 PICTFOR members, parliamentarians and special guests gathered on the House of Lords Cholmondeley Room and Terrace for a lovely evening of speeches, discussion and networking. The keynote address was given by John Whittingdale OBE MP (pictured), Chair of the Culture, Media and Sport Committee.

Read more

Congratulations to the PICTFOR Twitter Awards Winners

Sixty Parliamentarians and Parliamentary staff gathered Wednesday night for @PictforUK’s First Annual Twitter Awards in conjunction with PoliticsHome.

Top honours went to Sajid Javid MP (@sajidjavid) for Greatest Increase In Followers, Aidan Burley MP (@AidanBurleyMP) for Most Mentioned, and Lord Bassam (@SteveTheQuip) for “Peer of the Year”. Paul Waugh (@paulwaugh) of PoliticsHome served as Master of Ceremonies for a fantastic new annual event.

Before the Awards, Parliamentarians received a masterclass from Twitter’s Steve Summers (@pocketsteve) on how best to use the platform to engage with constituents and the world at large.

Read more

Announcing the @PictforUK “Twitter Teach-in” and Awards Ceremony

• Parliamentary “Twitter Teach-in” and Awards Ceremony to be held Weds. 12th June at 5.00pm, Portcullis House
• Steve Summers, UK Partnerships at Twitter, to lead Parliamentary “Twitter Teach-in”
• Paul Waugh, Editor of PoliticsHome, to serve as Master of Ceremonies

Read more

‘Make IT Happy 2013’ competition is awarded CyberSmart Award

We are delighted that Make IT Happy, the annual primary schools competition delivered by e-skills UK and PICTFOR with support from the IET and Nominet Trust, has been awarded first runner-up prize in the CyberSmart Awards 2013.

Read more

Make IT Happy Marks Best Start Ever

— Greatest ever number of early registrations for the competition
— 597 schools already registered
— Registrations span schools across 241 parliamentary constituencies

Read more

April Cybersecurity Event – Bookings now open

PICTFOR is delighted to announce its next event, Tuesday the 23rd of April, on cybersecurity.

Read more

PICTFOR debates UK transition to superfast broadband and 4G

— PICTFOR Co-Chairs Chi Onwurah MP and Stephen Mosley MP led proceedings in Westminster Hall

— Panel speakers included Rory Stewart MP and representatives from BT, EE, Vodafone, B4RN and Gigaclear

— Issues discussed included infrastructure competition, planning regulations, superfast speeds and the digital divide

Read more

Launch of Make IT Happy internet safety competition for primary schools

UPDATE 24-1-13:  Make IT Happy 2013 has been nominated for a 2013 ESET CyberSmart Award. PICTFOR is delighted to see the launch of this year’s internet safety competition for primary schools, Make IT Happy, Make IT Safe, and would like to encourage schools and parliamentarians to get involved. The winners will be invited to an Awards day […]

Read more