Eighth Annual Parliament & Internet Conference Agenda Announced

The agenda for the Eighth Annual Parliament & Internet Conference has been announced. The Conference will be held on 31st October 2013 in the Houses of Parliament and bring together over two hundred leading stakeholders from Parliament, Government, civil society, technology companies, consumer groups and academic organisations.

Ed Vaizey MP speaking at the Sixth Annual Conference.

Ed Vaizey MP speaking at the Sixth Annual Conference.

This year’s highlights include speeches from Communications Minister Ed Vaizey MP, Cyber Security Minister James Brokenshire MP, Cabinet Office Minister Chloe Smith MP and Ofcom’s Chief Executive Ed Richards. In addition there are a range of break-out discussions, plenary panel sessions and networking opportunities.

The Conference remains free of charge thanks to the kind sponsorship of Nominet, but due to consistently high demand, tickets are unfortunately not guaranteed for all those who apply. Those who apply will be notified if they have been successful as soon as possible.

To learn more, visit http://www.parliamentandinternet.org.uk and click here to register.


The Eighth Annual Parliament and Internet Conference

31st October 2013

Kindly sponsored by Nominet

9.00am      Registration

9.20am      Welcome and Introduction: PICTFOR Parliamentary Officers

9.30am      Plenary Session: Are We Privitising Morality?, with Julian Huppert MP and more

10.20am    Keynote Speech: Paul Timmers, Director, European Commission DG CONNECT For Sustainable & Secure Society

10.50am    Coffee

11.10am    Breakout sessions: UK-IGF; ISPA; e-skills UK

12.00pm    Feedback reports

12.15pm    Keynote Speech: James Brokenshire MP, Minister for Crime and Security, Home Office

12.45pm    Networking Lunch, kindly sponsored by EE

1.35pm     Keynote Speech: Hon Ed Vaizey MP, Minister for Culture, Communications and Creative Industries, DCMS

1.50pm     Keynote Speech: Ed Richards, CEO, Ofcom

2.00pm     Question-and-Answer Session with Ed Vaizey and Ed Richards

2.20pm     Breakout sessions: ICAEW, with Chloe Smith MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office with responsibility for Cyber security; DPA; Childnet

3.10pm     Feedback reports

3.25pm     Keynote Speech: To be announced

3.35pm     Plenary Session: Making the Most of the Mobile Revolution

4.25pm     Closing Remarks from Lesley Cowley and the Parliamentary Officers

4.30pm     Drinks Reception

Further details will be announced shortly. All times and speakers subject to change.
Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.