Please enable JavaScript

Please upgrade your browser to view this site correctly

Pictfor recently held our Inaugural Meeting for the new Parliament on Tuesday, 11 July 2017 in the House of Commons. Please see below for minutes. Click here for a downloadable PDF version. 


  • Matt Warman MP
  • Chi Onwurah MP
  • The Rt Hon. Stephen Timms MP
  • Nigel Huddleston MP
  • The Rt Hon. Lord McNally
  • Lord Dykes
  • Scott Mann MP
  • Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate
  • Vicky Ford MP
  • Darren Jones MP
  • The Rt Hon. Stephen Timms
  • Baroness Neville-Rolfe DBE CMG

With support from the Pictfor secretariat.

A. Welcome and Introduction from Chi Onwurah MP

  • Chi Onwurah MP welcomed everyone to the Pictfor Inaugural Meeting and thanked everyone for attending. She said that Pictfor is going from strength to strength. Chi thanked the secretariat for the organisation of events and their work meeting with and engaging members. Chi then passed over to Lord McNally to manage the election of Chairs.

B. Election of Parliamentary Chairs and Officers

  • Nominations for Co-Chair were called for. Chi Onwurah MP assented to stand as Co-Chair again. Matt Warman MP outlined that he would be unable to stand a Co-Chair again and the he continues to be supportive of Pictfor. He went on to nominate Vicky Ford MP for the other Co-Chair position. Scott Mann MP seconded this motion. Vicky Ford MP introduced herself and highlighted her background and experience as an MEP. The attendees unanimously approved Chi Onwurah MP and Vicky Ford MP as Co-Chairs.
  • Chi Onwurah MP proposed Lord McNally be reappointed as Treasurer. This was unanimously approved.
  • Chi Onwurah MP suggested that Pictfor could have positions for various specialisms within the broad remit of internet, communications and technology. Scott Mann MP agreed that the division of different policy areas would work well. Vicky Ford MP added that it could divide up speaking responsibilities and sponsorship of events. It was decided that the secretariat team should make recommendations.
  • The following Parliamentarians were all unanimously approved as officers:
    • Matt Warman MP
    • Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate OBE
    • Lord Patel KT
    • Scott Mann MP
    • Kevin Hollinrake MP
    • Martyn Day MP
    • Bob Blackman MP
    • Darren Jones MP
    • Lord Harris
    • Lord Teverson
    • Louise Haigh MP
    • Lord Goddard
    • Lord Cromwell
    • The Rt Hon. Stephen Timms MP
    • Carol Monaghan MP
    • Lord Cotter
    • Baroness Neville-Rolfe DBE CMG
    • James Heappey MP
    • Bim Afolami MP
    • Daniel Zeichner MP

C. Approval of the current group accepting all assets and debts from as handed over by the previous group, brief summary from Pictfor Treasurer Lord McNally

  • Lord McNally said that Pictfor was in a healthy financial situation and outlined all assets and contracts left by Pictfor at the close of the previous Parliament. Lord McNally said that, in summary, the finances are sound, membership is healthy and the secretariat are extremely active. He added that that he has regular meetings with the secretariat to ensure that the finances are in good order. A vote was called to accept the assets and debts left by Pictfor at the close of the previous Parliament which passed unanimously.
  • Lord McNally then went on to recommend that officers pass on suggestions for new industry members to the secretariat team. He suggested that there could be further engagement with Universities and local authorities.

D. Update on membership drive and events programme and discussion around future themes (Pictfor secretariat)

  • The Pictfor secretariat outlined the membership structure and rates. The secretariat explained that the majority of income is from membership fees, which come in during the beginning half of the year and are spent throughout the year. The secretariat explained that the group aims to spend the income each year on relevant events and activities.                                                                                          
  • The Pictfor secretariat explained that there are more members than previously, made up of both new and retained members. The secretariat confirmed that they will continue to pursue new members.
  • Vicky Ford MP highlighted the importance of ensuring that income is used to educate and inform. She added that the membership list could be larger. She also suggested that there are a number of European conferences that Pictfor Parliamentarians could attend.
  • Baroness Neville-Rolfe DBE CMG said that there is potential for many more members, and to broaden this out to include car manufacturers and other online companies.
  • Chi Onwurah MP said that every potentially single company could be involved given tech’s expanding role.
  • Vicky Ford MP suggested that content providers could be interested in relation to copyright issues.
  • Matt Warman MP said that it is good that the APPG is active.
  • The Rt Hon. Stephen Timms MP asked about the timing of the 5G and Connectivity briefing and he was advised that the date would be confirmed soon.


  • Vicky Ford MP raised the issue of Pictfor branding and explored whether the name could be simplified. Matt Warman MP suggested that the Pictfor brand was a conversation for the Co-Chairs. Vicky Ford MP asked the secretariat to consider options to re-name Pictfor, the process involved, and to make recommendations to the Co-Chairs.
  • Chi Onwurah MP asked that the secretariat team look into the possibility of Pictfor Parliamentarians attending the GSMA Mobile World Congress 2018 in Barcelona. She added that logistics and costs need to be considered.                                                                                                           
  • Chi Onwurah MP closed the meeting.

If you would like further information on this topic or about Pictfor’s programme of events, please contact admin@pictfor.org.uk.

Please note: This document includes the minutes of the meeting. This is not an official publication of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees. All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in this report are those of the group.


If you would like further information on this topic or about PICTFOR’s programme of events, please get in touch!

Get In Touch keyboard_arrow_right
keyboard_arrow_up Back to the Top